The Maclean Bicentennial Museum is among very few purpose-built galleries in rural Australia. The outstanding layout allows guests to understand quickly and take pleasure in the range of very special displays.
There are fascinating reproductions of an early school room and an old hospital ward and numerous frequent displays. The museum provides a fascinating insight into early Australian ways of life, and the experience stretches well past the borders of the Clarence River.
The Stone Cottage, in the very same grounds, was built by Johann George Schaefer after 1879 utilizing sandstone quarried from the site. It came to be the local museum in 1973 and since the opening of its big brother in 1988 it has been gone back to a “living history” copy of a traditional house from the turn of the century. It includes many working models.